Tutoring During a Trip Abroad

Current Situation

In an international and globally structured business world, spending time abroad is becoming increasingly common. More students are taking advantage of the opportunity to spend a semester or a year abroad.

With respect to spending a semester abroad, Perspectiva Nova deals primarily with the language learning process and educational journey of school-aged children and adolescents. In most cases, the students attend international schools where they receive instruction in core subjects. These institutions generally maintain a high standard of learning and boast a comprehensive curriculum. However, we have noticed that students often find it difficult to transition back into Swiss schools after their time abroad. There are often gaps in their knowledge base when compared to their Swiss peers. This struggle becomes particularly evident when they transition from primary to secondary school and when they take their entrance examinations for secondary schools, which prepare students for a university education (Gymnasium).

A student may also encounter a situation in which he or she does not feel challenged at an international school. As a result, the child’s parents suddenly realize that the international school is governed by vastly different standards than Swiss schools. Often, certain subject areas like French or Latin are not even covered at international schools, and this puts these students at a distinct disadvantage compared to students of the same age attending a Swiss school. Hurdles and pitfalls aside, time spent abroad provides many different opportunities, not only broadening horizons and building friendships, but also acquiring a new language.

Offerings

Perspectiva Nova sets out to minimize the aforementioned difficulties and to offer students and their families comprehensive support. This includes not only adhering to the Swiss curriculum while abroad but also optimizing the reintegration process after the student returns to Switzerland.

In general, Perspectiva Nova offers a three-stage model that covers the periods before, during, and after the time abroad. All three stages consist of different modules that can be expanded upon and adapted to meet individual requirements.

Auslandaufenthalt

Momentane Sachlage

In einer international und global ausgelegten Geschäftswelt sind Auslandaufenthalte zur Norm geworden. Zusätzlich nehmen immer mehr Personen ein Auslandjahr oder Austauschsemester wahr.

Perspectiva Nova setzt sich in ihrer Arbeit vorwiegend mit dem Lernprozess und der schulischen Laufbahn von Kindern und Jugendlichen in oben erwähnten Settings auseinander: In den meisten Fällen besuchen die Schüler/-innen internationale Schulen, in welchen sie in den wichtigsten Fächern unterrichtet werden. In der Regel gewährleisten diese Institutionen einen hohen Standard und bieten ein umfassendes Curriculum. Trotzdem beobachten wir seit Jahren, dass Schüler/-innen beim Wiedereinstieg ins Schweizer Schulsystem Mühe bekunden und stoffliche Defizite haben. Diese Schwierigkeit tritt vor allem beim Übertritt von der Primar- in die Sekundarstufe, bei der gymnasialen Aufnahmeprüfung und bei der Maturitätsprüfung auf.

Auch kann die problematische Konstellation auftreten, dass sich die Schüler/-innen in einer internationalen Schule unterfordert fühlen und die Eltern realisieren, dass andere Standards als im Schweizer Bildungssystem herrschen. Oftmals werden einzelne Teilbereiche wie beispielsweise Französisch oder Latein nicht abgedeckt. Für die Schüler/-innen resultiert daraus ein erheblicher Nachteil im Vergleich mit gleichaltrigen Jugendlichen, die eine Schweizer Schule besuchen. Abgesehen von Hürden oder Stolpersteinen bietet eine Auslanderfahrung aber auch viele neue Möglichkeiten, da nicht nur der Horizont erweitert und neue Freundschaften geknüpft werden, sondern auch eine neue Sprache erlernt wird.

Angebot

Perspectiva Nova setzt sich zum Ziel, die oben erwähnten Schwierigkeiten zu vermindern und den Schüler/-innen und deren Familien ein umfassendes Setting zu bieten. Dies beinhaltet einerseits die Einhaltung des Schweizer Curriculums im Ausland, andererseits die optimale Anschlusslösung nach der Rückkehr in die Schweiz.

Grundsätzlich bietet Perspectiva Nova ein dreistufiges Modell, das die Periode vor, während und nach des Auslandaufenthalts umfasst. Alle drei Bereiche bestehen aus verschiedenen Grundbausteinen, welche beliebig erweitert und den jeweiligen Bedürfnissen angepasst werden.